Challenges and Best Practices: Sea Ice Thickness Distribution as a Rosetta Stone for Cross-Scale Communication

Sea Ice Prediction Network Webinar

Event Type: Webinars and Virtual Events

When: 22 March 2016

Where: Online

More information: 
https://www.arcus.org/sipn/meetings/webinars

Summary

The Sea Ice Prediction Network (SIPN) announces an open webinar entitled "Challenges and Best Practices: Sea Ice Thickness Distribution as a Rosetta Stone for Cross-Scale Communication."

This webinar will be presented by Cathleen Geiger, University of
Delaware and is scheduled for Tuesday, 22 March 2016 from 9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. AKDT.

This event is designed for the sea ice research community and others interested in learning about issues related to estimating sea ice thickness across many scales. While this is an open event, attendees should be aware that the discussions will largely be of a technical nature.

Sea ice is a unique geophysical material capable of spanning a large range of horizontal length scales while at the same time only varying by meters in vertical extent. As example, a sea ice crack can be less than a meter-wide in one horizontal direction and stretch across the Arctic basin (thousands of kilometers) in the other direction.

This presentation will include discussion on the consistency of sea ice thickness distributions across different horizontal length scales, specifically the issue of measurement accuracy and some of the challenges related to estimating sea ice thickness across many length scales; offer insight into the general phenomenon of "up-scaling" by considering scaling relationships as a form of communication, specifically the communication of information between scales; and some
new best practices illustrated with a simple heuristic model and some small case studies.

The webinar is scheduled for 9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. AKDT (10:00 a.m.to 11:00 a.m. PDT, 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. MDT, 12:00-1:00 p.m. CDT, and 1:00-2:00 p.m. EDT) on Tuesday, 22 March 2016.

More details including registration instructions, will be announced closer to the event. The webinar will be archived and available online after the event.

Please contact me with any questions at betsy [at] arcus.org.

Warm regards,
Betsy


Betsy Turner-Bogren
Project Manager
Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS)
3535 College Road Suite 101
Fairbanks, AK 99709-3710
Phone: 907/474-1600
betsy [at] arcus.org